Deutscher Hochschulbaupreis (German University Building Award)

Every two years, the Deutsche Universitätsstiftung awards this prize for exemplary university buildings or ensembles that feature a special architectural and cultural quality or demonstrate an exemplary approach to historical building stock. Since 2014, the award has been presented every two years under the auspices of the Federal Ministry of Building.

The award winners have found outstanding ways to combine aesthetic and functional aspects of buildings that makes these university construction projects attractive for both students and faculty. At the same time, they are committed to ecologically, economically and socio-culturally sustainable building practices and to making a positive contribution to design in the public space. The Eberhard-Schöck-Stiftung provides the monetary prizes for this award, which is jointly presented to the builders and the designers.

Photos: Ortner & Ortner Baukunst, Berlin; Knoche Architects, Leipzig; Andreas Schüring Architects, Münster in partnership with Bühler and Bühler Architects, Munich.