Latest News

Prizes and Awards

Schöck award for innovation in building and construction

18 January, 2019:

Congratulations! Carmen Marock (RWTH Aachen), Stefan Ehrke (TU Braunschweig) and Tim Hammer (Karlsruhe Institut for Technology KIT) are the recipients of this year’s award for their outstanding final projects and theses.

Exchange Projects

Exchange program launches in Neustadt an der Aisch

17 June, 2018:

Ten apprentices three master craftsmen from Yekaterinburg in the Ural region of Russia made the trip to Neustadt an der Aisch in Germany. The young automobile mechatronics technicians were participating in a vocational school exchange program that will be completed with a trip to Yekaterinburg by their German counterparts. The group quickly bonded while working hand in hand in the workshop, getting a tour of the BMW plant and enjoying a host of leisure activities together. A particular highlight was the rapt attention and the tremendous support for the visit of the Russian group.

Prizes and Awards

Deutscher Hochschulbaupreis (German University Construction Award) 2018

19 April, 2018:

The German University Construction Award is presented every two years by the University Foundation with the Eberhard-Schöck-Stiftung providing the prize money. This year, the first prize went to Zeppelin University, a private university in Friedrichshafen, Germany. Luebeck University and Stuttgart Media University were runners-up. The Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning is the patron of this award.

For details about awards and recipients (in German), click here.

Film (in German) about the winner of the first prize.

Prizes and Awards

Schöck Award for Innovation in Building and Construction 2018

15 January, 2018:

Congratulations! Caecilia Karge, Dipl.-Ing., TU Dresden, Patrick Eble, M. Sc. , KIT and Henrik Matz, M. Sc., TU Braunschweig are the recipients of this year’s award for their outstanding final projects and theses. The awards will be formally presented at a ceremony on February 19, 2018 in Ulm, Germany.


Prizes and Awards

Brilliance and commitment – Norbert Lammert receives the award for his outstanding contribution to the German language

13 November, 2017:

This year’s awards went to Norbert Lammert, the project “Klasse! Wir singen” of the Singen e. V. nonprofit as well as the show “Sozusagen!”, aired by Bayerischer Rundfunk.

As the first politician in the series of award recipients, Norbert Lammer – the former presiding officer of the German parliament – received the Jacob Grimm Award for the German Language and reiterated his commitment to codifying the German language in the country’s constitution.  He stated that the sentence “our national language is German” would have done away the need for with numerous ideological debates over the past years.

The project “Klasse! Wir singen”, said Walter Kraemer in his speech, had done great things for the emotional health of children and the social cohesion of our country.  Daniel Keding, the project’s executive director, stated: “We want to make sure that the younger generation does not forget its songs and are working to further sustainability in singing.“

The show “Sozusagen!” at the Bayerischer Rundfunk was awarded the Institutionenpreis Deutsche Sprache – a German language prize awarded to institutions. Acting on behalf of the editorial team, host Knut Cordsen stepped forward to receive the symbol of the award, a glass block. He said: “Sozusagen!” is not a show for cultural pessimists. Instead, it serves to create awareness for what is wonderful about the language.

Jury member Anke Sauter praised the show in her speech: “The show is as multi-faceted as the German language itself.”

Over 800 guests attended the award show at the ballroom of the Kongress Palais Kassel.